The WhatsApp contact no longer responds to messages? Then maybe he blocked you. TECHNOLOGY BUTTON shows you how to find out.
Everyone has probably already deleted or blocked a contact on WhatsApp: the ex-partner, the intrusive disco flirt or half-acquaintances in need of communication. But do I actually see if I have been blocked myself? Yes – if not at first sight. But there are some signs that TECHNOLOGY BUTTON will introduce to you.
Blocked on WhatsApp? These are the clues
Sometimes there are just contacts and groups that are just annoying with WhatsApp. You may be sending nonsensical or simply too many messages, or getting tangled up in endless discussions. If you have such contacts but don’t want to delete them right away, you can block them on WhatsApp. It works with just a few clicks. Open the corresponding contact on WhatsApp and then click on the three dots in the upper right corner. Under “More” you will now find the selection “Block”. From now on, you can no longer reach the blocked person via WhatsApp and will no longer receive any of your status messages.
But how do you find out if someone has blocked you yourself? The following indicators provide information:
1. Note: Profile picture disappeared
WhatsApp itself doesn’t offer a setting that shows whether someone is blocking or deleting you. The developers themselves justify this step with the privacy of the users. So you have to look for clues: can you still see the profile picture of the contact? If so, it could be an old one. It is best to take another look at the user’s profile: If you can no longer access the profile information or the picture suddenly disappears and is replaced by a gray placeholder – oh, oh, that doesn’t look good! Chances are you’ve been blocked.
2. Note: time stamp
Another indicator is the so-called time stamp – i.e. the small display in the chat under the name of the user that shows when he was last online. If a contact blocks you, you can no longer see them. Caution: The time stamp is generally not always displayed. Just because you are temporarily unable to see it for some users does not automatically mean that you have been blocked.
3. Note: The second tick is missing
If only a tick appears on the messages you have sent, then you should also be skeptical. But what do the hooks actually indicate? A tick means that the message has been sent and has arrived somewhere on WhatsApp’s servers. Only when a second tick appears does that mean: The message actually reached the recipient. If this is not the case, there is either a technical problem with WhatsApp or the recipient does not want any messages from you at all.
4. Note: The call does not come through
With WhatsApp, you can now also make calls over the Internet – both by voice call and video telephony. However, such connections can only be established with contacts that you have not blocked on WhatsApp. So if you suspect that this is exactly what happened, just give them a call on WhatsApp. If you can’t get through it is a sign that someone doesn’t like you.
5. Note: Create a WhatsApp group
Last but not least, there is another hint that shows you even more precisely than any previous one whether one of your contacts has blocked you on WhatsApp. To do this, you need to create a new group, which you will also add the suspected blocker to. It works like this:
Open WhatsApp and go to the messenger menu via the three points. Here you will find the option “New Group” in the first position. As soon as you click on this you will be taken to your contact list, via which members can be selected for the group. Specifically, add the person you think blocked you as well. If your guess is correct, that person will not appear in the list of group members. You can find the list in the group menu under “Group info”.
Tip: If your guess is not true and the contact has not blocked you on WhatsApp, you should be able to respond to possible questions and be able to give a reason for creating the group.